« "The Fastest Way to Send Humans to Mars is to Not Worry About Bringing Them Back" | Main | Invisible Planets Become Visible »

September 27, 2011

Pluto now has four moons

A discovery by astronomers using Hubble Space Telescope a few months ago announced Pluto adding a fourth moon to its list. The new moon is under 21 miles in diameter. Even though Pluto is considered a dwarf planet, it now has four moons orbiting it. The largest of the original three, Charon, is 650 miles in diameter and was discovered in 1978; Nix and Hydra, discovered just six years ago, are smaller. The observations of the new moon were part of The New Horizons Mission (scheduled to flyby Pluto in 2015). "A moon-hunt was not the goal of the program, but it was something in the back of our minds all along," said Dr. Mark Showalter of the SETI Institute of Mountain View, California.*

*Full article at http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/21/science/space/21pluto.html?_r=1&ref=astronomyandastrophysics

Posted by mhymes at September 27, 2011 03:26 PM


If only that was enough to get it re-instated as a planet. That would be such a happy day for anyone born in the early 90's and were taught that there were nine planets in the Solar System.

Posted by: arevuo at September 30, 2011 10:14 PM

Login to leave a comment. Create a new account.