« East Asian Celebration: Long Life, Happiness & Prosperity | Main | CCS alumni expertise in the media spotlight during Hu Jintao's state visit to U.S. »

January 18, 2011

U.S.-China Economic Law Conference, Friday, February 11, 2011

Bookmark and Share

Registration deadline is February 3, 2011. Please click on flier for additional information.

The meeting is distinguished by the important academic specialists and officials who will present, and from both sides of an increasing divide, including:

President Clinton's USTR, Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky,
who negotiated the bilateral agreement which paved the way for the PRC's accession to the WTO;

Madame Li Yongjie,
PRC Ministry of Commerce, presently in charge of all WTO litigation and dispute settlement under the WTO for the PRC;

Madame Zhang Ruosi, a PRC appointee to the WTO Secretariat (GATS Division) in Geneva;

Merit Janow, a former member of the WTO Appellate Body;

Tim Stratford, immediate past chief of the China desk at the USTR.

The meeting will also feature some of the University of Michigan's inter-disciplinary best, including the Law School's Ted Parson (climate negotiations and environmental law after Copenhagen); Ford School Associate Dean and Economics Professor Alan Deardorf (the currency problem); Poli Sci's and CCS' Mary Gallagher (labor rights and the law); and the Ross Business School's Zhao Minyuan (cross investment and technology sharing, or not, intellectual property, etc.).

We expect the exchange to be vigorous and highly substantive, and to range across a number of important aspects of the relationship: the WTO discipline itself; international trade and regulation; cross-border investment; intellectual property and high tech development; currency manipulation; labor and human rights; energy and the environment, etc.

It is our hope that you will think about attending some or all of the meeting, which will be held in Wayne Law's lovely Partrich Auditorium.

Free transportation will be provided by the conference, with buses departing from the Michigan Union at: 7:30am and 11:30am; and returning at: 2:00pm and 7:00pm. Please contact Holly Hughes at hhughes[at]wayne[dot]edu to arrange a place on the shuttle buses.

Posted by zzhu at January 18, 2011 03:02 PM