September 26, 2013

Prizes & Awards: AATSEEL Awards - Nominations

Deadline: October 15, 2013

AATSEEL invites nominations in the following five categories:
1. Excellence in Teaching (Secondary);
2. Excellence in Teaching (Post-Secondary);
3. Distinguished Service to AATSEEL;
4. Outstanding Contribution to the Profession;
5. Outstanding Contribution to Scholarship.

If you would like to nominate someone, please take the following three steps by 15 October:
1. Check at to determine whether your candidate has already won an award *in that category*;
2. Send *offlist* the name, affiliation, email, and prize nomination;
3. Include a short paragraph (a testimonial or rationale) to by 15 October.

We welcome nominations in smaller fields, international nominations, and other perceived professional lacunae.

Posted by sarayu at 02:02 PM | Comments (0)

August 14, 2013

The Alec Nove Prize in Russian, Soviet and Post-Soviet Studies

The Nove Prize was established by BASEES in March 1995 in recognition of the outstanding contribution to its field of study made by the late Alec Nove.

The deadline for nominations for books published in 2012 is 15 September 2013. The judges for the 2012 award are Terry Cox and David Shepherd. The winners will be announced early in 2014 and the prize (if awarded) will be presented at the annual dinner of the 2014 conference.

The current regulations are as follows:
1. The prize, of one hundred and fifty pounds, is offered annually for scholarly work of high quality in Russian, Soviet and post-Soviet studies.
2. A nomination may take the form of a singly or jointly authored book, or two or more related journal articles or chapters.
3. Works nominated for consideration must be of a scholarly character, must be in English, and must have been published - as defined by the date of imprint or, if a periodical, the cover date - within the 12 months of the calendar year preceding the annual closing date for nominations.
4. The authors of nominated work must at the time of nomination be members or associate members of the British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies. It is the responsibility of the nominator to check the BASEES membership status of potential nominees and ensure that membership is in place prior to nomination. Nominations of non-members will not be considered.
5. Awards will be made by a jury whose membership will be approved by the Executive Committee of the Association, and which will normally consist of former Presidents of the Association.
6. The jury may divide the Prize equally between not more than two nominated works in any year; or they may make no award in any year in which no work of sufficient merit presents itself.
7. Works may be nominated for consideration by the authors, or by publishers, librarians or other scholars.
8. Two copies of the nominated work(s) should also be supplied.
9. The deadline for submission of nominations shall be 15 September each year in respect of publications whose imprint date is the previous calendar year. The prize is awarded (if a recommendation is made to do so) at the Association's annual conference in the spring of the calendar year following the deadline for submission of nominations.
10. Nominations should be made on the standard form for this purpose, which is available as a download from this page, and submitted to the Secretary of the Assocation.

Posted by bkohlerk at 03:15 PM | Comments (0)