U-M School of Social Work

« Previous | Main | Next »

Susan Lipschutz, Margaret Ayers Host and Anna Olcott Smith Awards - Due Jan. 4, 2010

Posted: December 09, 2009

The Susan Lipschutz Fund for Women Graduate Students was established to honor the memory of Dr. Susan Lipschutz, former Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate School and Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. Many people in the University community esteemed Susan Lipschutz as a valued colleague, mentor and friend, and as an advocate committed to the support of women students as they pursued their doctoral degrees. The Susan Lipschutz Fund recognizes and supports promising women scholars.
Margaret Ayers Host received a Rackham degree in 1942. She studied at Oxford, was President of the Alumni Association, Chair of the Alumnae Council, member of the Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics, and a member of the Rackham Board of Governors. The Margaret Ayers Host Award was established to honor her remarkable contributions as a woman scholar and to the University of Michigan community. Ella Smith Avery made a gift in 1938 in order to honor the memory of her mother and to support women graduate students at the University of Michigan. According to the terms of the gift, the Anna Olcott Smith Fellowship Endowment is intended to aid women graduate students who show “promise of the development of useful original ideas.”

Any Rackham doctoral program may nominate only one student for the combined competition. Nominees must be women actively pursuing a doctoral degree who have achieved candidacy by the application deadline. Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 7.6 or higher.
Selection Criteria
Award recipients will have demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievement, a sense of social responsibility and an interest in the success of women in the academic community. A selection committee composed of faculty will review all nominees in a common pool.
Dept. Deadline
January 4, 2010
Award Description
At least three $5,000 awards will be made (one Susan Lipschutz Award, one Margaret Ayers Host Award, and one Anna Olcott Smith Award) for Spring/Summer support. Based on the availability of funds, additional awards may be made during the competition process.
Nomination procedures
Students in a Rackham doctoral program must be nominated by their program for this award. If you would like to be nominated for this award, please send electronic copies of the required materials listed below to Todd in the doctoral office.
Graduate programs may nominate students by submitting an online nomination form which includes the following:
• Statement of Student's Achievement and Potential (a brief statement from the graduate program chair regarding the qualifications of the nominee for the award and the selection process)
• Personal statement from the applicant describing her research, future goals, and contributions to her community and the university;
• Letter of recommendation from the applicant's graduate chair, or faculty advisor noting her achievement and promise;
• Student's curriculum vitae (c.v.).


Login to leave a comment. Create a new account.