Kresge Library News: Databases Archives
March 04, 2008
New Database: Health Devices International Sourcebase
Health Devices International Sourcebase provides information about medical products, contact suppliers, and mergers and acquisitions in the medical device industry. Use this directory to find out which companies produce specific types of products, locate suppliers, research a purchasing decision, learn what other products are available, and learn more about device manufacturers.
Access Health Devices International Sourcebase, along with other Kresge Library Databases on our A-Z Database page.
February 05, 2008
A Great Place for Advertising: YouTube
There are a number of resources that you can use to view advertisements. One of the resources that is definitely worth checking out is YouTube (it is not just for stupid stunts anymore)!
From the New York Times
For Marketing, the Most Valuable Player Might Be YouTube
By STUART ELLIOTT
Published: February 5, 2008
The Internet, digital video recorders, mobile devices and other technologies are giving a strong postgame presence to the annual roster of Super Bowl commercials.
Follow this link for the full article.
With more and more advertising available via YouTube and other resources, it is easier than ever to find and use advertising in your research.
The trick is getting the file so you can use it on your desktop when you are not connected to the Internet. Getting a file from YouTube has been tricky. But there is a great web application that you can use to grab YouTube videos and convert them to MP4 files.
Called YouTube to iPod and PSP Converter, this small program will download and convert YouTube videos into an MP4 file format among others. Good for your iPod, your PowerPoint Presentation or for working offline. This is from DVDVIDEOSOFT.COM and is free.
For students and faculty at the Ross School of Business, there is also Adforum. This database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media. The focus is international. The database has audio and video capability. The source also provides access to news and other information relating to the advertising industry, including agency information. Be sure to log off as directed on the password sign on screen.
February 04, 2008
Investext Plus Analysts Reports Content Update
Some of the major brokers, such as J.P. Morgan, have pulled their content from the Investext Plus database. During this transition time, you may see an error, "The Document requested could not be retrieved at this time.", instead of the PDF when you click on the full text link. Investext will be clearing their database over the next few weeks to remove the links to these reports which are no longer available.
January 31, 2008
New Databases: Life Sciences Analytics and ValueLine
The Library has added two new databases to our suite of resources, Life Sciences Analytics and ValueLine. These databases can be accessed on the Library's A-Z Database page.
Life Sciences Analytics is a collection of competitor, deal, financial, and drug pipeline reports for over 2,500 pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and biomedical companies worldwide. It also includes reports of drug pipelines organized by therapy.
ValueLine, the well known stock research company, collects data and analyzes performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 13,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities. The subscription to the Research Center includes access to the suite of investment surveys, including Stocks, Mutual Funds, Convertables, Daily Options and Special Situations.
If you have questions about these databases or any other Kresge Library resource, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu .
January 28, 2008
Notification of SEC Rule Changes via RSS
The SEC News Digest provides daily information on recent Commission actions, including enforcement proceedings, rule filings, policy statements, and upcoming Commission meetings. Stay up to date on these announcements using the SEC's RSS feed.
Don't have an RSS reader? Outlook 2007 has a built-in RSS Reader (instructions for setting up the Outlook RSS Reader) which will deliver news right to your inbox, or you can chose from a variety of web based readers, such as Bloglines or Internet Explorer 7.
Have questions? Send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu.
December 11, 2007
State Tax Research Digest Added to BNA
The new State Tax Research Digest has just been added to the BNA Tax Management State Tax Library. This guide provides summaries of state tax laws for corporations and individuals, and links to relevant state tax statutes, regulations, and State Tax Portfolios. The Digest also provides Expert Analysis, planning points, examples and state-by-state charts.
To access the State Tax Research Digest at BNA, click on the 'State Tax' tab at the top. On the State Tax page is a link to the digest in the Expert Analysis area, under the 'State Guides' section.
If you have questions on using BNA, or any of the other Kresge Library Databases, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu.
December 07, 2007
Business Monitor Online Content Update
Two new content areas, Mining and Power have been added to our Business Monitor Online subscription. Business Monitor Online provides economic, political, and industry sector analysis for 175 countries.
December 06, 2007
Housing and Constructions Statistics Added to Global Insight
Global Insight, which provides news, analysis and special reports for 186 countries and the automotive, health care, energy, healthcare, and telecommunication industries, has added new content covering historical housing and construction statistics on a sub-national level for the United States. This data is available in the DataInsight-WEB in the U.S. Economy section.
This is an easy way to get access to statistics from the Mortgage Banker's Association, Bureau of the Census, National Association of Realtors, covering topics such as average home prices, new construction starts, mortgage delinquency, and federal government construction in areas of public safety, conservation and other non-building construction. Many of the data series go back to 1968. Data can be exported to Excel.
If you have questions about Global Insight or any other Library resource, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
December 05, 2007
MarketResearch.com (Academic) Adds New Reports
MarketResearch.com (Academic) added a new publisher of reports available to the University of Michigan.
New Publisher: Simba Information
Simba Information was formed in 1989 and is widely recognized as the leading authority for market intelligence and forecasts in the media industry. Serving the information needs of both traditional and new media organizations, we provide key decision-makers at over 15,000 client companies across the globe with timely news, analysis, exclusive statistics, and proprietary industry forecasts. Simba's extensive information network delivers top quality, independent perspective on the people, events and alliances shaping the media and information industry.
November 30, 2007
Mintel Adds New Reports
Mintel, provider of consumer focused market research reports for the US and UK, has added 60 new titles to their report line up. The full list of new titles is available on Mintel's web site.
November 29, 2007
New eMarketer Report - Mobile Message Marketing
eMarketer, provider of market reports on the Internet, e-business and online marketing, has published a new report on the mobile messaging market in the US.
Considering the speed and sophistication with which marketers are integrating other mediums such as outdoor, radio, television and the Web with SMS call-to-action, an ad-supported model for mobile messaging network charges cannot be far off.
eMarketer projects that the global market for ad-supported mobile messaging will rise from $1.5 billion in 2006 to $12 billion by 2011.
To find out more, read the new eMarketer report, Mobile Message Marketing.
If you have questions on using eMarketer, or any of the other Kresge Library Databases, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu. eMarketer is available to all of the Ann Arbor campus.
November 28, 2007
New eMarketer Report - Online Recorded Music
eMarketer, provider of market reports on the Internet, e-business and online marketing, has published a new report on online recorded music in the US. Weighed down by plummeting CD sales, the global recording industry struggles to regain its footing in a rapidly changing marketplace.
Revising its previous estimates down, eMarketer forecasts that worldwide spending on recorded music will decline from $31.8 billion in 2006 to $26.2 billion in 2011.
To find out which musical categories can expect an upbeat, read the new eMarketer report, Recorded Music.
If you have questions on using eMarketer, or any of the other Kresge Library Databases, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu. eMarketer is available to all of the Ann Arbor campus.
November 27, 2007
OneSource Global Business Browser - New Interface
OneSource Global Business Browser, a database of company information, has upgraded its interface, making it easier to search for a company, industry or executive. A new interface for searching news is also available.
OneSource provides in-depth business information on nearly one million companies, including around 600,000 large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada; 260,000 companies in Asia and the Pacific; and nearly 100,000 other companies globally.
November 26, 2007
New eMarketer Report - Online Shopping
Just in time for Cyber Monday, eMarketer, provider of market reports on the Internet, e-business and online marketing, has published a new report on online holiday shopping in the US. Filled with easy to read charts and graphics the Online Holiday Shopping report brings some holiday cheer with a prediction of strong sales despite rise gas costs and the falling dollar value.
eMarketer forecasts that online holiday sales will reach $31 billion this season, up 18.5% over last year.
If you have questions on using eMarketer, or any of the other Kresge Library Databases, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu. eMarketer is available to all of the Ann Arbor campus.
November 08, 2007
New eMarketer Report
eMarketer, provider of market reports on the Internet, e-business and online marketing, has published a new report on online advertising spending in the US. Filled with easy to read charts and graphics the US Advertising Spending report looks at how advertising dollars are finally moving online.
As a percentage of total US ad spending, eMarketer projects that online advertising will more than double, rising from only a 6% share in 2006 to slightly over 12% in 2010.
If you have questions on using eMarketer, or any of the other Kresge Library Databases, send us an email at kresge_library@umich.edu. eMarketer is available to all of the Ann Arbor campus.
November 06, 2007
Thomson One Banker Excel Add-in for Office 2007
The Thomson One Banker Excel Add-in now works with Office 2007. To install the add-in, go to Thomson One Banker and click on Tools. Follow the instructions to download Thomson ONE Banker (T1B) For Office.
If you have questions about the Add-in, please email us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
October 30, 2007
Database Name Change
Reuters Business Insights is now just Business Insights. The database still provides access to full text Reuters reports across six markets: eCommerce/Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Consumer Goods and Energy.
October 29, 2007
OneSource Global Business Browser - Content Update
OneSource has expanded it's content offerings to include data for more countries. Some of the new data includes:
- Australian and New Zealand Company Data: adds 50,000 companies and 100,000 executives
- New source for company information and rankings for Singapore: IDP Information provides company information, sales ranking, employee figures, business descriptions and executives in Singapore.
October 18, 2007
Mergent WebReports Updated
Mergent has released an upgraded version of Mergent WebReports, complete with a redesigned interface and enhanced searching capability. The enhancements include:
- Enhanced searching within the Equity Reports, including strong buys, sells along with the ability to drill down into various industry breakdowns
- Expanded search criteria and user tips
- Customizable column headings, which can be rearranged
- Increased search speeds, with a new progress bar when downloading reports
If you have any questions about Mergent WebReports, or other Kresge Library resources, please let us know at kresge_library@umich.edu.
October 10, 2007
Capital IQ Access to End October 31st
Access to Capital IQ will no longer be available after the end of October. No new account requests will be accepted after Tuesday, October 9.
The library has many other resources that provide the same type of financial, company and analysis information as Capital IQ:
10-K Wizard
Content includes financial agreements, financial data, directors and executives, insider transactions, and the latest in SEC news. Great for accessing SEC documents and mass downloading of SEC filings.
Mergent Online
Provides access to current and historical (past 15 years) financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records.
Thomson ONE Banker
Market data, extensive company financials and related information for companies worldwide. Use to research company fundamentals and statistics, do peer analysis, identify companies that meet desired criteria, and easily use Excel to retrieve current and historical information.
Thomson Research
Forecasts and analysis covering more than 30,000 companies. The company record includes Excel spreadsheet financials (current and 10 year historical), SEC filings, price and earnings data, Extel Overview Report, WorldScope Report and full SEC report.
As always, if you have questions or need help selecting resources for your research, contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 28, 2007
Updated Interface for 10-K Wizard
10-K Wizard has updated their interface. The tabbed access to the search features has been removed and the links for these different sections moved to a menu at the left side of the screen.
In addition, better searching is available. 10-K Wizard has indexed all words, numerical values, punctuation and symbols providing more accurate and comprehensive results for searches such as “7.5% senior notes” or references to FASB Standards. The 'total results' feature now gives an accurate count of results received.
You can also refine searches and see results in context snapshots on the results screen.
Looking for the 'Recent Filings'? Check then new menu across the top of the screen, which provides direct access to the different types of recent filings from any screen
If you have questions about the new 10-K Wizard interface or any other Library resource, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 27, 2007
BNA Tax Library Name Change
BNA Tax Management Library has changed its name to BNA Tax and Accounting Center. Along with the name change has come a new interface utilizing 'tabbed' access to the different sections of the site. Several new features have been added to the interface to make searching and using the materials at BNA Tax and Accounting Center easier:
- Search the entire site from any screen.
- Customize the interface and set the starting tab (requires account creation).
- Split screen view for documents, showing table of contents and document section on one screen.
- The 'Go To' feature to find a document by citation or category is available at the top of every screen.
- For each tab section, an index of documents is available on the left hand side of the screen.
- Printing can be done in batches of up to 25 documents.
If you have questions about the new BNA interface or any other Library resource, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 18, 2007
Database Updates: LexisNexis
LexisNexis has performed a major upgrade to their user interface. Probably the biggest improvement is the addition of the General Search tab. From this tab, you have the ability to search across news, legal and business information on a single screen.
The 'Power Search' tab allows you to limit your search to a specific publication or set of publications. Use the 'Find more sources' link in the 'Select Sources' section to enter in the desired titles.
Results screens groups your results by source type, such as newspapers, company filings and magazines and journals. Clicking on the links to these groups will show articles from just those sources. You can also regroup the result by other categories, such as publication name, industry or geography.
Access to the specialized search screens for Business and Legal searches have been moved to the button bar at the top of the screen so you can jump between search types at any point.
LexisNexis is available on the Library's A-Z Database list. If you have any questions about LexisNexis, or any of the other Kresge resources, please email us at kresge_library@umich.edu
September 17, 2007
Database Update: Plunkett Research Online
New features have been added to Plunkett Research Online, most notably a new customization feature called MyResearchAccount. Use your own personalized MyResearchAccount to save searches, make comments, edit your searches, run them over again, and delete them. Using this feature requires creating an account a Plunkett.
Read on for a listing of more new features.
Other new features include:
1) A two-tier menu bar that allows you to switch between industries and sections with ease.
2) Export directly from your search results list. Just click the “Export this Search” button at the top of the company search results list, to go directly to the export page. You no longer need to go to the Export Companies page and redo your last search (though you still can if you really want to).
3) Statistics are now featured in HTML format (with PDF format still available) so that the section will load more quickly, and you can search more easily (use CTL+F for now; a search bar will be available soon), and browse more smoothly.
4) Company profiles now have a “clear” button, so you can wipe all the search criteria instantly. You can also refine searches more easily as Plunketts will remember your last inputs with the “refine your search” link on the results page.
5) A mini Google search engine is now available in every Industry Research Center, so you can search across all data in a single industry, without reference to where that data is stored.
6) Associations and Organizations have a whole new look, making it easier to search.
7) Glossaries have full-alphabet indexes at the top of each page.
If you have questions on using Plunketts or any other Kresge Library resource, drop us a line at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 14, 2007
Database Update: CareerSearch
One more entry in the newly redesigned category. CareerSearch's new interface includes tabbed access to the different search types and easier to read pages. The new 'Criteria' selection box on the right side of the screen makes it easier to manage your search selections.
Other new features include:
- News Watch Lists - a customized tool that provides users with the most up-to-date information on the company of their choice.
- Corporate Affiliations - details the "family tree" of a company and allows users to quickly identify the parent, subsidiaries and divisions of a specific entity.
- Contact Search - allows users to quickly identify individuals within a company by title or name.
- Premiere Partnerships with CareerBuilder, InternDirect and Career Next Step integrate the Web's best employment resources into a CareerSearch. Search for jobs, find an internship, access career assessment tools, and expand networking opportunities in one central location.
As always, if you have questions about CareerSearch or any of the Kresge Library Resources, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 13, 2007
Database Update: Mintel
Not to be left out of the summer redesigns, Mintel has launched a new interface to their marketing data, called 'Mintel Oxygen'. This new interface provides the same market research you're used to, with new "What's Hot" trend analysis that was previously unavailable to Kresge Library users.
Other improvements include an expanded news service, and a "View Tables" feature that displays all tables from a report at once.
If you have questions about this new interface or other resources available from the Kresge Library, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
New Database - Ward's Business Directory
This 2007, 50th edition of the Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies includes details on approximately 112,000 private and public companies in the United States. Basic contact information and data about each firm, including the industries in which it operates, names of top executives, number of employees, the type of company it is, its financial performance, alternative mailing addresses, and historical financial information are included. You can search by industry, state, zip code, area code, and type of company, as well as by sales ranges. Advanced sorting and data export data from Ward's into Microsoft Word (for mailing lists) and Excel (for research and analysis) are available.
Earlier editions of the Ward's Business Directory are available in print in the Kresge Library.
September 12, 2007
New Report Options Available for DemographicsNow
DemographicsNow has updated their output capabilities to include exporting in Excel spreadsheet and RTF formats. These options are available after creating an HTML report.
September 11, 2007
CareerTV - New on WetFeet
A new offering from WetFeet, CareerTV. At CareerTV, you can view hundreds of video profiles of the world's top employers which provide a firsthand look inside the workplace. You can also upload video resumes and get career advice, all in video format.
CareerTV is integrated into WetFeet. Just look for the links at the bottom of the page under the 'Industry Research' section.
August 24, 2007
New Database - Mergent WebReports
Mergent WebReports is an online database of 180,000 corporate and industry related documents, including analyst equity reports on over 4,000 large and mid-cap US companies; annual reports, prospectuses, financial statements, and annual summaries on over 30,000 companies worldwide; and in-depth analyses of key industries in North America, Europe, and Asia/Pacific, which describe the market environment, industry landscape and key market trends for companies, industries, countries and regions. Industries include automotive, banking, insurance, oil and gas, information technology.
Mergent WebReports is available for the entire UM system. If you have questions about using Mergent WebReports, or any of the other Kresge Library resources, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
August 23, 2007
Additional Content for OneSource Global Business Browser
Researchers using OneSource now have access to company and financial data for an additional 300,000 Asian companies, including countries from Australasia and the Middle East.
OneSource provides in-depth business information on nearly one million companies, including around 600,000 large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada; 260,000 companies in Asia and the Pacific; and nearly 100,000 other companies globally. OneSource aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, StatUSA.
August 21, 2007
New Year, New Look for Many Databases
Welcome back to another school year! While many of you were gone for the summer, the database vendors have been busy making changes to their user interfaces. Here is a list of some of the databases that have been given a summer face lift:
Adforum
The new interface features new colors and a new toggle search box for searching for searching by ad or for an agency.Global Market Information Database
There have been some significant changes to this database, which were covered in an earlier post. Most notable is the addition of a personal login requirement for downloading or exporting data.LexisNexis Academic
The new 'Easy Search' feature allows for general keyword searching across several different sources available from LexisNexis, without having to select a category prior to searching. In addition, advanced search screens for Legal, Business and People data are also available.Market Research.com
The new front page provides a 'Browse by Industry' section for accessing reports, as well as a new search box, in the middle of the page. Search results are ranked by relevance and are easier to read.
ReferenceUSA
The new interface provides a drop down menu at the top of each page for access to the Business or Residential listings. Items not available through the Library's subscription are in gray. The Custom Search tab lets you create your own search form with just the criteria you want to search on. The listings screens have been reorganized and are cleaner and easier to read.
During the coming term, several other databases will get a new look at well:
- Business Monitor Online
- Mintel
- Thomson ONE Banker
If you have questions about these databases, or any of the other resources available from the Kresge Library, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu, or stop by the Reference Desk.
August 02, 2007
New Database - Mergent Online
Mergent Online is a new financial database that provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records. Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.
Mergent Online is available for the entire UM system. If you have questions about using Mergent Online, or any of the other Kresge Library resources, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
August 01, 2007
GMID - Global Market Information Database Gets a New Look
GMID (Global Market Information Database) from Euromonitor has been given a facelift. The new interface provides category based access to the familiar set of market, demographic and economic history/forecast data.
Each industry has its own starting page with current industry news, links to market reports, statistics and company reports for that industry and its segments.
New starting pages have also been created for Countries, Consumers and Geographies, providing links to the reports and data related to those categories.
Looking for the familiar checkbox interface to the industry, demographic, consumer and economic data? Use the Menu Search under the 'Search' menu, or use the links on the left menu to select a specific statistical group.
If you have questions about using the new interface to GMID, or any of the other library resources, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
July 06, 2007
New Database: Demographics Now
Resource Name: Demographics Now
Resource Link (for Ross School Faculty, Students, and Staff
Alternative Link for OnCampus Access
Resource Description: Demographics Now breaks down Census data and other statistical information such as demographic, income, and expenditure data by various geographic levels, including state, county, zip code area, and census tract. Available reports include summaries, comparisons, rankings, and maps. Can be used to develop business and marketing plans.
March 07, 2007
What Happened to TDNet?
As you may have noticed, there are no longer any links to the journal locator service from TDNet on the Library's web site. The TDNet service has been replaced with a new journal locator service from Serials Solutions. Look for links labelled 'Journal Locator' on the Library's home page, Resources menu and A-Z Database page.
The Journal Locator provides a method for you to locate over 8000+ unique journal titles in article databases from both the Kresge and University libraries, such as ABI-Inform/ProQuest, Business Source Complete, Kluwer, Blackwell, Emerald, Springer and Elsevier-Science Direct. Search by journal name or browse titles, either alphabetically or by subject. Links to the Kresge Library print holdings are included.
The Journal Locator is the place to start if you are trying to find out which database to use to search the Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, or other journal title.
March 01, 2007
ebrary (E-book Package)
ebrary (E-book Package)
Resource Link for Ross School of Business Students, Faculty and Staff
Alternative On-campus Link
ebrary is a full-searchable collection of electronic books including the “Business, Marketing and Economics Collection” offering access to 5000 full-text eBooks, research reports, company profiles and case studies to support business study and research. The collection includes publishers such as AMACOM (American Management Association), McGraw-Hill, MIT Press and Career Press.
Technical Notes: Users will need to download a browser plug-in (the ebrary reader) the first time you connect to the service. If you access the resource from different computers, you will need to download the plug-in on each one.
Access note: Resource is for the whole University of Michigan system (Ann Arbor, Flint and Dearborn) and is part of a joint purchase between University Libraries and Kresge Library. This will be supplemented with additional content in social sciences and/or humanities.
February 22, 2007
World Bank e-Library
World Bank e-Library
Ross Students, Faculty and Staff: http://www.bus.umich.edu/KresgePublic/Mentor/Login.asp?http://0-puck.worldbank.catchword.org.lib.bus.umich.edu
Alternative On-Campus URL: http://puck.worldbank.catchword.org
World Bank e-Library provides a searchable and browsable collection of over 4,000 World Bank documents including over 1,600 World Bank publications, over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, and the journal, the World Bank Economic Review. You can also browse the e-Library by the following geographic regions: Africa, East Asia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia, Latin America, and Middle East - North Africa (and then by subject under each category).
NOTE: This is a great resource for people looking at non-profits and NGOs in the developing world.
February 07, 2007
New Reports Available via IBISWorld
New Reports Available via IBISWorld
The Kresge Library now has access to a full suite of reports from IBISWorld. In addition to the Industry Market Research Reports, we now have access to the Company Research Reports & the Business Environment Database Reports. These are all integrated via the database to make it easy to move back and forth between different reports. We will soon be getting access to archival reports as well (news coming soon).
This is the full description of the database: IBISWorld is a leading provider of strategic Business Information with research reports on industries, companies and economic conditions. The Industry Market Research Reports cover a wide-range of U.S. industries and are updated every four months ensuring that the latest industry data will always be available. The IBISWorld industry data enables detailed analysis of key growth trends, the competitive environment, and key issues facing each industry. You can browse by industry or search the reports by keyword. Company Research Reports cover over 8000 leading publicly traded companies and include information on key personnel and financials. Business Environment Database Reports provide information on “key drivers and influencing factors” that contribute to changes in industry.
Link to IBISWorld (Business School link).
Alternative link for on-campus access to IBISWorld
February 06, 2007
New Expanded Data Available from Amadeus
New Expanded Data Available from Amadeus
The Kresge Library now has access to the full database of public and private companies in 38 European Countries in Amadeus. This means that when you use Amadeus, you will be searching over 9 million company records (up from the 1.5 million in our previous package).
Here is the description of the resource: A comprehensive, pan-European database containing financial information (including ratios, activities and ownership) on approaching 9 million public and private companies in 38 European countries. It combines data from over 30 specialist regional information providers (IPs). Amadeus features standardised annual accounts (for up to 10 years), consolidated and unconsolidated, financial ratios, activities and ownership for approximately 9 million companies throughout Europe, including Eastern Europe.
December 18, 2006
Use Safari E-Books for Help with PowerPoint and Excel
Need help with PowerPoint and Excel? The Kresge Library has a great resource for you. Safari Tech Books Online is a fully-searchable collection of electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields.
View e-Books on PowerPoint & View e-Books on Excel
Safari titles cover diverse topics including programming languages, information technology management, operating systems, software applications, "hacks", and business titles. This resource includes books from 2004 to the present from such leading presses as O'Reilly and Pearson Technology Group (which includes Addison-Wesley, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Que, Sams, etc.) To see other e-book packages, view the e-book page.
December 08, 2006
New Resource: BNA Tax Management Library
The Library is pleased to annouce the addition of BNA Tax Management Library to the suite of resources offered to the Ross School of Business.
The BNA (Bureau of National Affairs) Tax Management Library offers online journals, reports and documents to support studies in accounting and tax planning at the federal, state and international levels. The resources that we have access to are in two areas: Federal/Foreign Tax Library and the State Tax Library. Both of these resources include: tax analysis, news, journals, reports, commentary, portfolios, sources and practice tools. Periodical titles in this package include: Weekly Report, Tax Practice Bulletin; Real Estate Journal; Estates, Gifts and Trusts Journal; and Weekly State Tax Report. An online guide is availble from BNA
November 09, 2006
Factiva Downtime for Maintenance
Factiva has scheduled maintenance between Saturday, 11-November and Sunday, 12-November 2006.
Access to the Factiva.com (all components, including): Factiva Search 2.0, Factiva Modules, Track Folders, E-Mail will be unavailable from:
8PM to 10PM November 11
Access will be intermittent following the downtime from approximately 10PM November 11 - 2AM November 12.
October 20, 2006
Capital IQ Adds S&P Ratings Content
Capital IQ has integrated Standard & Poor’s credit ratings and research content into its web-based information platform.
Capital IQ is available from the Library's A-Z Database List.
Factiva Content Update
Factiva has recently added 88 new sources to its database.
Highlights include:
- Newspapers and news services from China, France, Germany, Japan, Russia and the United Kingdom, including more than 50 regional UK newspapers.
- Industry publications covering the environment, finance, information technology and metals.
- Documents from United States government offices, including the Department of the Interior, NASA and Veterans Affairs.
Factiva is available from the library's A-Z Database list.
October 11, 2006
Choices 3 Brand List & Consumer Survey
Ever wonder exactly what all those people who took the Simmons National Consumer Survey were asked? Now you can find out. The Simmons National Consumer Survey (the basis for the data in Choices 3) is available to view on the Kresge Library's web site. The survey also contains the list of brands that are covered in Choices 3 so you can decide if the resource will help you in your research. The current survey and Choices 3 data set are from 2003.
Choices 3 allows you to search through the data from the Simmons National Consumer Survey to provide information on consumer demographics, preferences and media use for a variety of brands products and services. Choices 3 is available only on standalone database computers on the second floor of the Kresge Library.
September 20, 2006
Sports Business Research Network Gets a Face Lift
The Sports Business Research Network database has improved their user interface. It is now possible to see everything pertaining to a sport or subject from a single page. In addition, navigating the site is easier with on-page links to other areas of the site, removing the need to always return to the homepage.
The Sports Business Research Network database contains annual and some monthly statistics, as well as other material for 63 sports.
The Sports Business Research Network is available from the Library's A-Z Database page. If you have questions about this or any of the other Kresge Library databases, please feel free to contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
September 01, 2006
Access to Complete Vault Library Now Available
Starting this fall, the library will be providing online access to the full title list available from the Vault Online Career Library. All new titles published by Vault during the year will be available through the library's subscription at no charge to students.
You can access the Vault Online Career library from the Library's A-Z Database List.
New Database - Guidestar
Guidestar offers financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets; organization overview (mission, audience, etc.); annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms (typically all available forms since 1997). Users can search this database by keyword and by information such as geographic location, type of nonprofit, IRS Subsection (501(c)3, etc.), and NTEE (National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities) codes.
Guidestar is available on the library's A-Z Database List, or you can access Guidestar now.
August 09, 2006
New Database - 10-K Wizard
This database streamlines SEC EDGAR research with easy searching, downloading and printing of SEC filing data. Content includes financial agreements, financial data, directors and executives, insider transactions, and the latest in SEC news. 10-K Wizard provides access to real-time SEC EDGAR filings, EDGAR archives through 1994, PRE-EDGAR Historical Index of all SEC filings to 1966, and regulatory documentation. Enhanced download capabilities allow you to obtain up to 700 filings in a single download.
10-K Wizard is available from the Library's A-Z Database page or you can access 10-K Wizard now.
July 24, 2006
New Database - Ad$pender
Ad$pender monitors advertising expenditure information for millions of product brands across television, radio, magazine, newspaper, internet and outdoor channels. You can search for information based on category, company name, subsidiary and brand. Spenders can be ranked by category, company name, brand and more. Data is available back to 1986.
Ad$pender is available from the Library's A-Z Database page or you can access Ad$pender now.
July 20, 2006
New Database - Historical Annual Reports
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports offer searchable full text versions of annual reports for all 800 corporations that ever were in the Fortune 500. The reports currently date from 1844 through 1985. These reports provide invaluable data on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends for the leading corporations in the United States. These annual reports may be searched by keyword, company name, Fortune 500 ranking, NAICS Code, personal name, and subsidiary name.
This database is available to the entire UM community, including the Dearborn and Flint campuses.
Proquest Historical Annual Reports is available on the Library's A-Z Database page. Or you can start using Historical Annual Reports now.
July 18, 2006
New Database - BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen Suite is an online resource covering the environmentally friendly building industry. Included in this resource are:
- Articles from Environmental Building News (1992 to the present) a monthly newsletter featuring comprehensive, practical information on a range of topics related to sustainable design in the built environment.
- GreenSpec, a database of environmentally preferable building products listing more than 2,000 products with descriptions, manufacturer information, and links to additional resources.
- High Performance Buildings Case Studies describing projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features.
- Links to selected resources for environmentally sensitive design and construction.
The site can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic. Information is also organized by CSI Divisions or Homebuilder Categories.
This database is available on the Library's A-Z Database page, or you can access BuildingGreen now.
July 12, 2006
D&B's Million Dollar Database Gets a Face Lift
D&B has modified the interface to their Million Dollar Database. The new interface allows you to quickly search for a company by name, phone number, SIC code and location from the first screen. Additional options, such as searching by industry, executive name, ticker symbol and employee size are available on the 'Advanced Search' screen.
The way that your company name is searched in the database has also been changed to a keyword search. Searches will now bring back more results based on the words that you type into the company name field, providing a more comprehensive set of results.
As always, access to the D&B Million Dollar Database is available from the library's A-Z Database page. Or, you can try the new D&B Million Dollar interface now.
June 23, 2006
Database Hints: ABI/Inform
Need to find articles over a certain length? You can do so in ABI/Inform. When searching, add the following to your search terms:
AND wc(>1000)
This will return articles with over 1000 words. You can make the number as big or small as you need. Try this example:
mergers AND wc(>1500)
All of the articles retreived will have more than 1500 word in them.
If you have any questions about this hint or other tricks for working with the library databases, please contact us at kresge_library@umich.edu.
May 18, 2006
New Database - Global Finanicial Data
A new database for historical stock information is now available from the library's A-Z Database page.
Global Financial Data is an unparalleled source for historical stock market, financial, and economic data unavailable from any other online source. The GFD Database includes over 20,000 current and historical data series covering over 200 countries that have been collected from original sources. In fact, many of our series extend back more than two centuries.
April 17, 2006
World Market Research Center is now Global Insight
World Market Research Center has had a face lift and a name change. The datbase is now know as Global Insight.
Global Insight is a great place to go for economic and financial analysis, forecasting and market intelligence for the Automotive, Energy, Healthcare & Pharamceutical, and Telecom industries. Special reports, same-day analysis, and country reports are available for each industry.
Global Insight also has a large selection of company reports for the Automotive industry. The company selection is international in focus. The reports include information on company structure, products, customer base, development strategy, and financial performance. Companies include automotive manufacturers as well as automotive suppliers.
Access Global Insight now.
March 15, 2006
New Resource - Medical Industry Intelligence
Medical Industry Intelligence
Medical Industry Intelligence (MII) is an electronic journal provding comprehensive coverage of the medical device and technology markets. MII articles cover a wide range of topics and industry sectors, such as cardiovascular, orthopedics, endoscopy, and imaging.
Browse the Medical Industry Intelligence journal
Search Medical Industry Intelligence. Type in your search terms AFTER the word "AND" in the search box.
March 07, 2006
New Resource - IBISWorld
IBISWorld's Industry Market Research Reports cover a wide-range of U.S. industries and are updated every four months ensuring that the latest industry data will always be available. The IBISWorld industry data enables detailed analysis of key growth trends, the competitive environment, and key issues facing each industry. You can browse by industry or search the reports by keyword.
Access to IBISWorld is available from the library's A-Z Database page.
February 07, 2006
New Resource - AdForum
AdForum is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry. Access to this resource is limited to Ross constituents only.
Access to AdForum is available from the library's A-Z Database page.
February 03, 2006
New Resource - Safari Tech Books Online
Safari Tech Books Online is a fully-searchable collection of electronic books published since 2004. Safari titles cover diverse topics including programming languages, information technology management, operating systems, software applications, "hacks", and ecommerce. This resource includes books from leading presses such as O'Reilly and Pearson Technology Group (which includes Addison-Wesley, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Que, Sams, etc.)
Access to Safari Tech Books Online is available from the library's A-Z Database page.


