September 27, 2006
Naxos Music Library
The Naxos Music Library offers over 140,000 music tracks for online listening. It includes classical, jazz, blues, folk, world, and also a small selection of pop and rock. New releases are added monthly. Users can search music tracks by genre, composer, artist, period, and more.
Naxos Music Library is available to currently registered UM-Dearborn students, faculty, and staff, from both on-campus and off-campus locations.
The Mardigian Library subscription to Naxos Music Library allows for up to three simultaneous users.
September 18, 2006
Nonprofit information in GuideStar
GuideStar is now available through the library web site. GuideStar provides financial data on over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. It lists the mission and programs, balance sheets, annual reports, lists of officers, and IRS 990 Forms for nonprofits, including foundations.
Currently registered UM-Dearborn students, faculty, and staff can use GuideStar on campus, or from off-campus with your UMID.
September 05, 2006
Library Web has New Look & New Search Tool
Today you'll see two significant changes to the library web site:
- Central Search is now available.
- The look of the library web site has been updated to correspond with the new campus web design.
Central Search is a new tool that allows researchers to search multiple library databases at the same time.
Central Search includes articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers and also includes books, DVDs, and other items in our library, as well as encyclopedia articles and other reference information. It saves time by letting you search multiple library databases at once.
Try Central Search on the library home page.
We’d like to get your opinion! After you try Central Search, fill out a quick survey to let us know what you think.
You can also send us general comments about the library web site or other library services.
August 11, 2006
3,300 Online Books Added
We’ve expanded access to ebooks, adding 3,300 online books in July. The library now has over 9,000 netLibrary online books available through the library catalog. You can find available titles by searching the library catalog. Look for the "ebook" format in any search results and click on the "Access Web Version" link to view the entire book online.
July 26, 2006
Featured Resource: Safari Tech Books
Need help with a technical issue related to computing? Use Safari Tech Books Online! Thousands of books from leading IT publishers are available — often, new titles appear in Safari even before they appear in print! You can either read books from cover to cover or search them for a specific item of interest.
- Searching: All books can be searched for keywords or for code fragments using the Search box on the home page. You can also Find a Specific Book if you know its title, author, publisher, or ISBN.
- Browsing: Interested in a topic, but don’t have a specific keyword or book? Click on one of the links under Browse by Category. Many categories are available, including Databases, E-Commerce, Human-Computer Interaction, Multimedia, Operating Systems, Security, and Software Engineering.
Some of the publishers included in Safari Tech Books are: Addison-Wesley, Adobe Press, Cisco Press, Macromedia Press, Microsoft Press, O’Reilly, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall, Que, Sams, and Sun Microsystems Press.
June 30, 2006
Featured Resource: Sociological Abstracts
Looking for scholarly articles in sociology? Use Sociological Abstracts! Locate articles from 1952 to the present. Also, find articles on related subject areas, such as health, medicine, law, women's studies, social development, religion and science.
Sociological Abstracts (SA) also finds book, film and software reviews, and relevant websites for your search.
Search SA using the advanced or quick search screens. You can limit searches by year, document type, author name; limit by publication type, including books, book and film reviews, and dissertations.
Other features include:
QuickBib: Create your bibliography of your citations automatically using the QuickBib feature. You can format a bibliography using APA, MLA, Turabian and other styles; email, download and print out the results.
Online Thesaurus: Can't think of a word or term to begin your search? Try SA’s online thesaurus. From the search screen, click on the "Search Tools" tab and go to the "Thesaurus" link. Use the alphabetical index for browsing a word; you will get a link to the definition, how it is used, when it was added as a sociological term (or deleted) and any related terms.
Scholar Profile: SA also links you to a profile about the author, if available. Find the authors CV, websites, research interests, etc.
May 31, 2006
Global Financial Data Added
Global Financial Data provides over 20,000 historical and current data series containing financial and economic data, including interest rates, stock markets, exchange rates, and more. As the title indicates, coverage is global. Data and graphs can be viewed online, and data can also be downloaded in ASCII or Excel formats.
Global Financial Data is available to all currently registered UM-Dearborn students, faculty members, and staff, both on-campus and off-campus.
May 15, 2006
Dates Added to MLA Bibliography
Expanded access to the MLA International Bibliography online will simplify literature research for scholars and students. Online access now includes retrospective content from 1926-1962, 160,000 additional citations from 38 print volumes that are now searchable online for the first time. All references have been reviewed, and journal titles and subjects were standardized when they were added to the database. The database also continues to provide information on references from 1963 to the present.
The MLA International Bibliography is available to all currently registered UM-Dearborn students, faculty members, and staff, both on-campus and off-campus. It is a publication of the Modern Language Association and indexes material from journals, books, and dissertations, in the fields of language, literature, linguistics, folklore, and childrens' literature.
April 26, 2006
New Technology Encyclopedias
The UM-Dearborn community now has online access to these specialized encyclopedias:
- Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining
A comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of concepts, issues, trends, and challenges in the rapidly expanding field of data warehousing and mining.
- Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
Includes more than 550 articles highlighting current concepts, issues and emerging technologies in information science and technology.
- Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
A comprehensive source covering the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management.
Link to the encyclopedias from the titles above, or from the library's list of online encyclopedias
April 05, 2006
Alumni Access to Databases
As a pilot project, the library is providing UM-Dearborn alumni with off-campus access to four research databases. To participate, alumni need to register with the Office of Alumni Relations at 313-593-5131 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Allow at least one business day for registration to be completed.
Registered alumni receive access to:
- ABI/INFORM Global
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gender Watch
- ProQuest Direct Research Library
Read database descriptions and more information.
Alumni and other library guests may also access almost all other library databases at computers in the library building.
March 17, 2006
Global Market Information Database
Global Market Information Database (GMID) provides extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for many countries worldwide. GMID includes forecast data though 2010, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data about 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
March 02, 2006
IBISWorld: Industry Market Research Reports
IBISWorld provides industry market research reports that cover a wide-ranging number of U.S. industries. Reports are updated every 4 months and include key growth trends, the competitive environment, and key issues facing each industry.
Off-campus access to IBISWorld is available for current UM-Dearborn students, faculty, and staff.
February 09, 2006
Safari Tech Books Online
Safari Tech Books provides online technical books, mostly on computer science and business topics. Full-text access is available for titles from the last 2 years; earlier titles have access only to a preview of the text.
Off-campus access to Safari Tech Books is available for current UM-Dearborn students, faculty, and staff.